[QD] Nostalgia Music

As most thursdays go, I play old faves for throwback thursdays; Mainly because I dont have much pics from way back to share. Music ranging from old anime music like YUA’s “Thank You, Love”, or even BGMs from RuroKen. I made it a point to find the songs that traces back when I started liking the anime as a genre.

What I do have in my playlist is Utada Hikaru’s “Final Distance”. She’s probably the first jap musician that really got me interested in looking into other songs outside anisong. It started out with her “Hikari” being shown in MTV back then.

Anyways, “Final Distance” is my fave Hikki song. The solemn tone accompanied by the surreal backdrop/setting of the music vid is really lovely. I even went as far as trying to tab the piano parts on the guitar. My rendition is still sloppy but its one of those niched group of songs back then that I alone enjoyed trying to play at home (where everyone arent that big jap culture enthusiasts).

The ‘climax’ scene for me is where both of her persona sang to each other while being separated by a thick glass. That scene has been burned to my memory and I’ve been trying to recreate it.

Well, here is one practice that I got out that I can safely say I’m not ashamed of. XD

image

Will try to rework it in SAI.

Leave a Reply

